Self Made Man: Norah Vincent chooses Female Privilege over Male Privilege

A very interesting story of a woman who goes undercover as a man for 18 months to learn how men live, what our experiences are, and how we navigate the world.

I found myself nodding throughout, feeling satisfied that someone was finally understanding some of the subtle interpersonal experiences that men have.

I recommend this to men, but especially to women. On one hand I can very much appreciate that she’s done this, I consider it to be a service to both men and women, on the other hand, I’m saddened that it typically takes a woman’s voice to say such things and be listened to, without being dismissed.

Tagged , ,

5 thoughts on “Self Made Man: Norah Vincent chooses Female Privilege over Male Privilege

  1. Tarnished says:

    I can only hope that I’m able to do this someday. To live as the sex I feel I should have been, with all the differences that come with it, good AND bad.

    As a physical female who has only ever had male friends, I could have told Norah (as I’ve tried to tell other women) that men have a sense of togetherness and friendship that most women just can’t grasp…or perhaps don’t try to attain. The slights, insults, lighthearted punches, noogies, and ribbing are all signs of acceptance rather than intolerance. I’ve tried desperately to have female friends but it has never worked for long…thus, in 8th grade I stopped trying.

    It’s so incredibly sad, that it truly *does* take a woman (and preferably a feminine woman) to make others see the stark truth: Men have issues. Men suffer and hurt just as much as a typical woman, and in a majority of cases, even moreso. A woman can cry in public, and strangers of BOTH sexes will come to her aid. A man would be looked at with disdain by 95% of women, and with subtle pity and unspoken understanding and slight disappointment by other men. Why? Why should one who is taught from puberty (or prior) to always be strong, aware, protective, stable, and successful NOT have reason to crack under this daily pressure? The answer is that people, mostly women, refuse to even *entertain* the notion that a man can ever feel fear, regret, sadness, or frustration.

    And yet we as a society act surprised when this mess of emotions congeals into a slow, simmering anger. Well, let me correct that. The vast majority of women are surprised. Those of us who are men, or have close relationships/similarities to men, are not.

    I would hope that this book and documentary could help to open the eyes of the public…but I know better.

    • Francis Roy says:

      Tarnished said: “I would hope that this book and documentary could help to open the eyes of the public… but I know better.”

      Just because it takes many nails to hold a house together doesn’t mean that any single one isn’t important. As we men, women, authors, videographers, bloggers, conversationalists, activists, etc speak up, we’re building the solid framework of a good house for our children to live in one day.

  2. […] me, the book was great. Not because I knew all the things she encountered by experience, but I immediately felt I could relate to all of […]

Leave a Reply

