All men ask for is R-E-S-P-E-C-T

The following story was relayed to me. The famous woman-empowering song “Respect” was penned by Otis Redding; it was written from the perspective of a man speaking to a woman. Aretha Franklin altered the song so that the voice would match her own, that  of a woman.

Respect” is a song written and originally released by Stax recording artist Otis Redding in 1965. The song became a 1967 hit and signature song for R&B singer Aretha Franklin. The music in the two versions is significantly different, and through a few minor changes in the lyrics, the stories told by the songs have a different flavor. Redding’s version is a plea from a desperate man, who will give his woman anything she wants. He won’t care if she does him wrong, as long as he gets his due respect, when he comes home (“respect” being a euphemism)[Citation really fucking needed]. However, Franklin’s version is a declaration from a strong, confident woman, who knows that she has everything her man wants. She never does him wrong, and demands his “respect”. Franklin’s version adds the “R-E-S-P-E-C-T” chorus and the backup singers’ refrain of “Sock it to me, sock it to me, sock it to me…”
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Respect_%28song%29

I have to admit, however, that I take umbrage with some of the language above, I considered altering to to be more factual than emotive on Wikipedia, but am not in the mood to get into a revision war.

I provide the lyrics for your inspection, and later on, Otis Redding’s version.

What you want, baby, I got it
What’s you need? You know I got it
All I’m askin’ is for a little respect when you get home
Hey baby, when you get home, mister

I ain’t gonna do you wrong while you’re gone
I ain’t gonna do you wrong because I don’t wanna
All I’m askin’ is for a little respect when you get home
Hey baby, when you get home, listen

I’m about to give all of my money
And all I’m askin’ in return, honey
You give me my profits when you get there
Yeah baby, when you get home, oh, yeah, ooh

Your kiss is sweeter than honey
Guess what? So is my money
All I need is just a little respect when you get home
Baby, when you get home
[Incomprehensible] on me

R E S P E C T
Find out what it means to me
R E S P E C T
Take care, T C B

Oh, a little respect
Yeah, baby, I want a little respect
Now, I get tired, but I keep on tryin’
Runnin’ out of foolin’, I ain’t lyin’
Yes, respect, all I need is respect

All I want, ooh yeah, I want little respect
Yeah, baby, a little respect
Oh honey, sock it to me
[Incomprehensible]
Ooh, I want a little respect

Here is Otis Redding’s version

Thank you to Nina and Kathryn for pointing this little tid-bit out to me.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

