It’s a Man’s World, And It Always Will Be

I was directed to this article on Time Magazine’s website: It’s  a Man’s World, And It Always Will be.

The modern economy is a male epic, in which women have found a productive role—but women were not its author.

I sat stunned. I agree with a great deal of the ideas, and wondered if the word was turning upside down.

A peevish, grudging rancor against men has been one of the most unpalatable and unjust features of second- and third-wave feminism. Men’s faults, failings and foibles have been seized on and magnified into gruesome bills of indictment. Ideologue professors at our leading universities indoctrinate impressionable undergraduates with carelessly fact-free theories alleging that gender is an arbitrary, oppressive fiction with no basis in biology

No! This has made it to Time Magazine? I read on, and while the ideas seemed just and fair to me, what stood out was the excellence of the writing. This is the kind of voice I’d like to be able to write with.

The article concludes thus:

The modern economy, with its vast production and distribution network, is a male epic, in which women have found a productive role—but women were not its author. Surely, modern women are strong enough now to give credit where credit is due!

I found it very satisfying for once, to read an article that spoke in positive tones about men–and in a mainstream venue.

Who, I wondered, is this excellent writer? I was fully intending to send him or her a short note of appreciation for the gesture, and praise for the writing. As I scanned for the author’s by-line, the mystery was revealed: By .

I might as well send a letter to Pavarotti telling him that he sings well.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

