Men’s Rights Activism: how do you know when you’re done?

One of the problems with Feminism, is that because it’s a multi-billion dollar set of industries, there’s no good reason to say “job done, let’s go home,” to the contrary, the Iron Law of Bureaucracy demands that the machine be constantly fed, and as such, more and more issues are contrived.

Complaining about how a man sits or that he pees standing up is the surest sign of the shark having been jumped with zeal and allégresse.

On the other hand, as a men’s rights activist, I have certain goals, that once complete, let me to remove my MRA hat, sit back and enjoy a beer and the fruits of our collective labour.

Law:

  1. Mandatory paternity testing at birth, and the results made public. I believe that now that we can know such things, that a man should have the right to know whether a child is his or not, and that the children have the right to know who their father is.
  2. The choice to opt-in or opt-out of the rights and obligations of paternity within roughly the same time frame that women have. Just as women can choose to not be a parent for non-medical reasons, but simply those of personal choice, so should the man.
  3. Enforcement of a ban on non-medically necessary male circumcision, of those incapable of consenting, as it is for girls. Any procedure that is not medically necessary should not be performed on the unconsenting. I understand that there are cultural issue at play. There were once cultural issues at play regarding slavery as well. This is an issue of bodily integrity.
  4. The legal abolishment of any form of conscription as applied to males only. Either all are subject to the duties of conscription, or none should be.
  5. The rewriting of many laws to make them impartial to sex, and the impartial enforcement thereof. Laws that govern child support, alimony, violence including sexual-assault should all be held to the same sort of standards of evidence that any other crime would be, regardless of sex.

Were these five elements in effect, I would no longer need to be a Men’s Rights Activist; the laws that assign rights and duties would be impartial, and would likely not be men’s issues, but a people’s issues.

Other desired goals that do not necessarily fit under the umbrella of rights, but are options that would change culture for the better.

The market:

  1. Good options for discreet and reversible fertility control and contraceptive options for males. I believe that while not a legal issue, a man’s ability to control his fertility would go an exceedingly long way to resolving the quantity of issues that men suffer due to legal inequities. If you don’t break your leg, you don’t have to worry about a doctor’s malpractice.

Culture:

There are no issues in culture that are issues of rights per se. There are social inequities that must be addressed but these are issues of culture, of interpersonal relations and of belief systems. One cannot legislate away bigotry, sexism, racism, etc. Culture is outside of the domain of Men’s Rights, and is best addressed using the category of Men’s Issues.

Once the legal issues are dealt with, I could take of my Male Rights Activist hat, and merely be an advocate for a more enlightened way of dealing amongst ourselves.

I welcome your thoughful feedback on the matter.

Tagged , ,

6 thoughts on “Men’s Rights Activism: how do you know when you’re done?

  1. On point one, I disagree that they should be made public. There should be mandatory paternity testing, and the results should be available to the mother and potential father. Regardless of if a child is biologically the Fathers, if he wants to be the father this prenatal adoption shouldn’t be public record.

    • Francis Roy says:

      What I mean by making it public is not publishing it in the papers, but making it available to any other person that might be interested. If it turned out that the child was someone else’s, and I weren’t the father, I’d like to know. So might the my parents or family, or were I married, my wife. One of the points here is to avoid fraud. Imagine that I were accused of being the father, but could not look up the records to find out whether this were true or not. This defeats a good part of the excercise. As far as I know, a woman’s maternity is a matter of pubic record, why not the same for men?

      • I 100% agree that if you are accused of being the father, then you should have access to the paternity test. I question if the paternity test should be public record. YOU should know, but I don’t see why your parents your EXes your children and your neighbors should know.

        If a man is the Father and signs himself on the Birth Certificate then he is the father regardless of any biological relationship. Having the paternity test available to the public would undermine the Fatherhood of Men that adopt pre-natal.

      • Francis Roy says:

        I see your point. For the sake of discussion, I’ll continue to push mine and we’ll see where it goes. It is a matter of record who the biological mother is even when she adopts out. If it isn’t, I believe that it should be. Does this undermine the adoptive mother in any way? I can remember reading a number of instances in my youth where I’ve seem my mother’s name on public records stating that she is my mother. I’ve always taken it for granted that this is how things are. I’m not sure how they do it with adoption. Perhaps the same sort of guidelines, provided that everyone is informed and in accord could be set in play. I think that one issue that we have is that we’re being loose with the terms “father” and “mother.” We are conflating the biological status for the social one. And perhaps I’m being too loose with the term “public.” If you can offer a better choice of words or criteria, I’m listening.

        One reason that I believe strongly that genetic decendence should be made public–or at least available to those involved, is that the child should always have access to any information that relates to their biology. By public, I also mean that the information should factor in judicial events. Judges and lawyers should have such facts on hand before the instantiation of any proceedings in family court, as should any adoptive information. As far as the state goes, social paternity or maternity should both be defined as the acceptance of parental rights and duties. This choice is already made by the woman. The question is usually put as “Are you going to keep the child?” I believe the men should be routinely asked the same question.

        As a tangent, I can think of no good reason why a parent would withhold such information, and pretend to an adopted child that they are biological off-spring of adopted parents. What a shitty, base-line, start-of-life lie.

      • I see your point “Family History” is important in medicine, but it’s only helpful if you have the history of your biological family.

      • Francis Roy says:

        True, not all people’s history is on record, yet, for some it is. This is where we get into the grey of greater numbers, and the thoughtful precision required when making law and policy.

Leave a Reply

