Is Mad Max Fury Road a Feminist Film?

Some have tried to make a big to-do about Aaron Clary’s one post on the PUA blog Return of Kings as being “an MRA boycott against a Feminist film.” Setting aside the fact that Aaron Clary does not call himself and MRA (he calls himself an Economist) and that the website Return of Kings actively dispels the notion that they are a Men’s Rights site, the narrative was still promoted. One post or one tweet, it seems, is now “a campaign.”

I’ve watched the film. It is no better or worse than the preceding three films.

The stunts were pretty good, I can respect the people who did them, but the story, in my opinion, was predictable and quite frankly slow and shallow. I would classify it as a very high budget “B” movie. I watched it because it was playing and I had budgeted my time and popcorn for it, but I wouldn’t watch it twice, and most certainly not in the theatre at $18 a pop. Charleze Theron is one of my favourite actresses (see her in Monster), but even someone with her skill can only do so much with the story given to her.

Was it a “Feminist” movie? Not in the least. It’s the same old formula movie that we’ve all watched 100 times, with a different skin. Women are mistreated by the one-dimensional bad guy, they need to escape, the strong silent, sexy hero comes along and plays his part in their rescue, there is the predictable sequence of challenges to surmount until they finally meet the boss, the challenge is won and the hero rides off into the sunset.

The only thing that was remotely novel was a number of the admittedly well executed stunts.

No boycott was ever endorsed, and neither do I. The reason to not watch it is that it isn’t worth the ticket price–for me. Wait until it comes out on Netflix or DVD.

Tagged , ,

One thought on “Is Mad Max Fury Road a Feminist Film?

  1. Spawny Get says:

    Once the furore started, whether it was a feminist film or not became pretty much irrelevant. Either way, the kerfuffle over the issue still sent message. I think it’s a good one. Adding a whiff of feminism to your marketing (Eve Ensler consulted on vagina monologues in the movie) comes at a cost. It’s a pushback. Gain a few feminist viewers, lose a bunch of red pillers.

    Thanks for the review. Pretty much what I believed. I’ll catch it sometime, I guess.

Leave a Reply

